Help!, can't get games to start

Bugs Report

Re: Help!, can't get games to start

Post IP: rejestrowane!

They work under Win XP 64-bit fine, and clearly you have it working on Win 7 X64 Ultimate (I'm using enterprise). I'm beginning to suspect it might be something to do with the C++ Redistributables? The crash when it loads really reminds me of that sort of crash, when you download a redistributable that gets called by something, and it's not the right 'year' of redistributable. Anyway, I'm really enjoying the work you've put into these on the other systems I have, and if I discover any information about what's messing it up, I'll let you know. :mrgreen:
User avatar
DeeGee Netherlands (nl) Male
User level 0
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 04 Feb 2012, 14:35
Last Visit: 29 Jan 2013, 05:06
Online: 2d 2h 23m 49s
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 0

Re: Help!, can't get games to start

Post IP: rejestrowane!

i've tryed exec's on several machines with different OS and i can tell on thing.

EXE FILES WORKS FINE ON:
- WIN XP x86
- WIN XP x64
- WIN Vista x86 ultimate, home premium (dont know about other's: enterprise etc)
- WIN Vista x64 ultimate (dont know about other's: home, basic etc)
- WIN 7 x86 ultimate (dont know about other's: home, basic etc)
- WIN 7 x64 ultimate, enterprise (dont know about other's: home, basic etc)

tested and approved by me, hehe
Last edited by Pancio on 08 Feb 2012, 16:52, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Pancio Netherlands (nl) Male
Legenda
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: 27 Jun 2010, 03:34
Last Visit: Yesterday, 16:59
Online: 1272d 19h 25m 53s
Location: Rotterdam
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 988
Ciemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna strona

Re: Help!, can't get games to start

Post IP: rejestrowane!

I have Win7 X86 Home premium - works great :)
Image
User avatar
roki76 Poland (pl) Male
Kilof of Justice
 
Posts: 4391
Joined: 30 May 2010, 13:18
Last Visit: Today, 17:39
Online: 131d 9h 49m 43s
Location: Pszów
Highscores: 1
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 911
Ciemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna strona

Re: Help!, can't get games to start

Post IP: rejestrowane!

AFAIK 99% of times it has to do with your antivirus program being over-protective and tagging an EXE with a false-positive alert.
Here's where you find out if you've got a good antivirus that allows to whitelist files that you know are safe or a bad one that knows better then the user. ;)
Amiga trwa i trwa mać!

Image
User avatar
Shoonay Poland (pl) Male
Chadziaj leśny
 
Posts: 6579
Joined: 13 Jun 2010, 15:55
Last Visit: 02 Apr 2015, 16:20
Online: 139d 20h 31m 34s
Location: Czorny Ślunsk
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 699
Ciemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna strona

Re: Help!, can't get games to start

Post IP: rejestrowane!

roki76 wrote:I have Win7 X86 Home premium - works great :)


thx roki, i've edited a list, hehe

Shoonay wrote:AFAIK 99% of times it has to do with your antivirus program being over-protective and tagging an EXE with a false-positive alert.
Here's where you find out if you've got a good antivirus that allows to whitelist files that you know are safe or a bad one that knows better then the user. ;)


im using the best one and only ESET smart security and have no problems with anything (EXEc's too) at all.
User avatar
Pancio Netherlands (nl) Male
Legenda
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: 27 Jun 2010, 03:34
Last Visit: Yesterday, 16:59
Online: 1272d 19h 25m 53s
Location: Rotterdam
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 988
Ciemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna strona

Re: Help!, can't get games to start

Post IP: rejestrowane!

Hello everybody!

Got same problem. The Company splash is coming for 5-10 seconds & thats all - process shuting down.

OS WinVista SP2 .

By the way - on WinXP - everything runs perfect (I try on my lenovo netbook & sun virtual box ).

Anyway - great job , "company' guys!

Thanks!

Your's friend from Russia , Oleg.

PS: Sorry for my bad english. Long time no practice. :(
Last edited by edcarnby on 30 Jul 2012, 18:53, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
edcarnby Russia (ru) Male
User level 0
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 10:10
Last Visit: 15 Sep 2014, 18:00
Online: 2h 19m 25s
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 0

Re: Help!, can't get games to start

Post IP: rejestrowane!

Find and delete catalog: TheCompany (location: LocalAppdata)
Find and delete catalog: tcUAE (location: Documents)



:gatorlove:
Image
User avatar
Anthrox Poland (pl) Male
Administrator `BO
 
Posts: 11082
Joined: 22 May 2010, 16:48
Last Visit: Today, 20:51
Online: 261d 7h 54m 52s
Highscores: 3
Lamps demolished: 208 (+178)
Reputation point: 8913
Ciemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna strona

Re: Help!, can't get games to start

Post IP: rejestrowane!

Hi, Anthrox !

Thank's for the tip, but I tried this already.

Won't Help.

But I noticed that not any game create "TheCompany" folder on problem OS (for example - moonstone don't do this).


PS: I prefer this :) :
User avatar
edcarnby Russia (ru) Male
User level 0
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 10:10
Last Visit: 15 Sep 2014, 18:00
Online: 2h 19m 25s
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 0

Re: Help!, can't get games to start

Post IP: rejestrowane!

Hmmmm, You use antivirus software?
If so, what?

---

The system is on partition C:?
Image
User avatar
Anthrox Poland (pl) Male
Administrator `BO
 
Posts: 11082
Joined: 22 May 2010, 16:48
Last Visit: Today, 20:51
Online: 261d 7h 54m 52s
Highscores: 3
Lamps demolished: 208 (+178)
Reputation point: 8913
Ciemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna strona

Re: Help!, can't get games to start

Post IP: rejestrowane!

Hmmmm, You use antivirus software?

I use Kaspersky antivirus on problem OS.
I tried to turn it off & even delete it .

The system is on partition C:?

Yes. Path to my profile hasn't cyrilic or other (not eng) letters. "English only" path.
User avatar
edcarnby Russia (ru) Male
User level 0
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 10:10
Last Visit: 15 Sep 2014, 18:00
Online: 2h 19m 25s
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 0

Re: Help!, can't get games to start

Post IP: rejestrowane!

Черт, я понятия не имею ]:->
Image
User avatar
Anthrox Poland (pl) Male
Administrator `BO
 
Posts: 11082
Joined: 22 May 2010, 16:48
Last Visit: Today, 20:51
Online: 261d 7h 54m 52s
Highscores: 3
Lamps demolished: 208 (+178)
Reputation point: 8913
Ciemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna strona

Re: Help!, can't get games to start

Post IP: rejestrowane!

Anthrox
Да я тоже, дружище! :-E

Ahhhh... Don't bother - keep playing on virtual machine. Or on real amiga ;) .

Just wanted to have portable version on my vistaPC (Yes,I'm really lazy. :-P )

Thanks for the help , Komrade!
User avatar
edcarnby Russia (ru) Male
User level 0
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 10:10
Last Visit: 15 Sep 2014, 18:00
Online: 2h 19m 25s
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 0

Previous

  • Similar topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests