Unable to play any games :(

Bugs Report

Unable to play any games :(

Post IP: rejestrowane!

Hello there. I downloaded the entire 100 collection of your .exes last night and unfortunately not one of them seems to want to run on my PC. I'm running XP SP3, firewall and antivirus turned off.

The first thing that happens when I open an exe is The Company splash screen displaying correctly. Immediately after that a box pops up stating that:

x7.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

After that, the game selector window opens correctly, offering me trainers and a choice of game if there is more than one in the exe. However once I've made my choice:

taskldr.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

And there it stops. The other threads relating to games not running suggest either deleting your folder in appdata, which I've done, and running the games in compatibility mode for XP SP3...which would be rather strange since I'm actually running XP SP3 :P

Any suggestions? My girlfriend has been all up in my grill about getting a working copy of Superfrog on here for months now :P thanks.
User avatar
rhaeven United Kingdom (uk) Male
User level 0
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 09 May 2011, 08:20
Last Visit: 10 Jun 2011, 01:54
Online: 3h 20m 27s
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 0

Re: Unable to play any games :(

Post IP: rejestrowane!

Can u make screen from error and put picture here ?
It's strange becouse most of errors are caused by wrong compatibility mode or files from old exe games.
mess with the best die like the rest!
darmowe remixy utworów
baw się z portalem chyba ty
User avatar
bigbadcompany Poland (pl) Male
User level 3
 
Posts: 254
Joined: 31 Mar 2011, 21:12
Last Visit: 04 Jan 2018, 22:06
Online: 15d 7h 40m 18s
Location: localhost
Highscores: 2
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 238
Chorąży TorpedaChorąży TorpedaChorąży Torpeda

Re: Unable to play any games :(

Post IP: rejestrowane!

superfrogerrors.jpg


So, the splash screen loads, immediately followed by window 1. Once I hit Close, window 2 pops up. When I hit the -.- button to start Superfrog, window 3 is shown, and then nothing more.

Can't see these being helpful, they're just the basic windows "Something went wrong, and we can't tell you what, but it went wrong and this has to stop" errors :(
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
rhaeven United Kingdom (uk) Male
User level 0
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 09 May 2011, 08:20
Last Visit: 10 Jun 2011, 01:54
Online: 3h 20m 27s
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 0

Re: Unable to play any games :(

Post IP: rejestrowane!

If all exe aren't working answer is easy... I think it is a problem with your software. But you can try with other compatibility mode like xp s2 or older.

You had try with compatibility mode for XP SP3 with admin previllages ?
mess with the best die like the rest!
darmowe remixy utworów
baw się z portalem chyba ty
User avatar
bigbadcompany Poland (pl) Male
User level 3
 
Posts: 254
Joined: 31 Mar 2011, 21:12
Last Visit: 04 Jan 2018, 22:06
Online: 15d 7h 40m 18s
Location: localhost
Highscores: 2
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 238
Chorąży TorpedaChorąży TorpedaChorąży Torpeda

Re: Unable to play any games :(

Post IP: rejestrowane!

(@bbc XP ma tryb zgodności z XP SP3? :hee: - jak dla mnie to brak poprawki SP3... )

@BBS: Does XP have XP SP3 compatibility mode? ;)
@Rhaeven: Perhaps it's a problem with your XP? Do you have Service Pack 3 installed?
Image
User avatar
Anthrox Poland (pl) Male
Administrator `BO
 
Posts: 11082
Joined: 22 May 2010, 16:48
Last Visit: Yesterday, 20:51
Online: 261d 8h 9m 43s
Highscores: 3
Lamps demolished: 208 (+178)
Reputation point: 8913
Ciemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna strona

Re: Unable to play any games :(

Post IP: rejestrowane!

"I'm running XP SP3" - z tego co wyczytałem założyłem, że ma zainstalowany dodatek :-E
mess with the best die like the rest!
darmowe remixy utworów
baw się z portalem chyba ty
User avatar
bigbadcompany Poland (pl) Male
User level 3
 
Posts: 254
Joined: 31 Mar 2011, 21:12
Last Visit: 04 Jan 2018, 22:06
Online: 15d 7h 40m 18s
Location: localhost
Highscores: 2
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 238
Chorąży TorpedaChorąży TorpedaChorąży Torpeda

Re: Unable to play any games :(

Post IP: rejestrowane!

Hey @rhaeven could you please check if you have 'error1.log' on your hard drive? presumably in Windows directory.
User avatar
Demonic Poland (pl) Female
Administrator
 
Posts: 146
Joined: 22 May 2010, 21:38
Last Visit: 21 Mar 2016, 14:30
Online: 21d 21h 3m 38s
Highscores: 2
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 616
Ojciec ChrzestnyOjciec ChrzestnyOjciec ChrzestnyOjciec ChrzestnyOjciec ChrzestnyOjciec ChrzestnyOjciec Chrzestny

Re: Unable to play any games :(

Post IP: rejestrowane!

Maybe it's one error which repeats for more programs than our exe files.
mess with the best die like the rest!
darmowe remixy utworów
baw się z portalem chyba ty
User avatar
bigbadcompany Poland (pl) Male
User level 3
 
Posts: 254
Joined: 31 Mar 2011, 21:12
Last Visit: 04 Jan 2018, 22:06
Online: 15d 7h 40m 18s
Location: localhost
Highscores: 2
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 238
Chorąży TorpedaChorąży TorpedaChorąży Torpeda

Re: Unable to play any games :(

Post IP: rejestrowane!

No error1.log in the Windows folder. Running a full hard-drive search for it, but I think it would've been found by now if it was there, been searching for a good ten minutes now.

And that's entirely possible, bbc, yeah, but I haven't had any other programs failing to load as of yet, just these ones. I'm willing to bet there might be something on this forum already that might help me fix it, but I can't read polish, so who knows? :P I tried running some through an internet translator but it all came out kinda gibberishy.

Edit: Yeah, no error log on my hard drive anywhere. Would the windows error report and memory dump be of any use to you guys?
Last edited by rhaeven on 09 May 2011, 18:47, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
rhaeven United Kingdom (uk) Male
User level 0
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 09 May 2011, 08:20
Last Visit: 10 Jun 2011, 01:54
Online: 3h 20m 27s
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 0

Re: Unable to play any games :(

Post IP: rejestrowane!

Tried cancel all unnecessary processes into task manager ? Leave only those which system needs to act and run exe.
What version of Direct X have u got ? Try uninstall and install newest (or older version).
mess with the best die like the rest!
darmowe remixy utworów
baw się z portalem chyba ty
User avatar
bigbadcompany Poland (pl) Male
User level 3
 
Posts: 254
Joined: 31 Mar 2011, 21:12
Last Visit: 04 Jan 2018, 22:06
Online: 15d 7h 40m 18s
Location: localhost
Highscores: 2
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 238
Chorąży TorpedaChorąży TorpedaChorąży Torpeda

Re: Unable to play any games :(

Post IP: rejestrowane!

Do you try to close your Internet Security soft and tryin again ???
Or if this does not help try to run exe in safe mode :)
Image
User avatar
roki76 Poland (pl) Male
Kilof of Justice
 
Posts: 4391
Joined: 30 May 2010, 13:18
Last Visit: Yesterday, 17:39
Online: 131d 9h 49m 43s
Location: Pszów
Highscores: 1
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 911
Ciemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna strona

Re: Unable to play any games :(

Post IP: rejestrowane!

rhaeven try with this one. this is a 2.0 version of exec.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=8819VK1C

launch it and tell us what happend.
peace
User avatar
Pancio Netherlands (nl) Male
Legenda
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: 27 Jun 2010, 03:34
Last Visit: 19 Jan 2018, 16:59
Online: 1272d 19h 25m 53s
Location: Rotterdam
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 988
Ciemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna strona

Re: Unable to play any games :(

Post IP: rejestrowane!

Safe mode has no effect, stripping down all unnessecary processes has no effect. I have the latest version of DirectX9 installed from about a week ago, reinstalling it had no effect.

That 2.0 copy of the Rick Dangerous pack crashes after the TheCompany splash screen:

TheCompanyLoaderWinMain.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

As opposed to the 2.5 exes, it doesn't even load up the game selection window :S
User avatar
rhaeven United Kingdom (uk) Male
User level 0
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 09 May 2011, 08:20
Last Visit: 10 Jun 2011, 01:54
Online: 3h 20m 27s
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 0

Re: Unable to play any games :(

Post IP: rejestrowane!

Have You an older Comodo Internet Security soft in your computer ? If not,what is your IS/AV soft ?
Image
User avatar
roki76 Poland (pl) Male
Kilof of Justice
 
Posts: 4391
Joined: 30 May 2010, 13:18
Last Visit: Yesterday, 17:39
Online: 131d 9h 49m 43s
Location: Pszów
Highscores: 1
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 911
Ciemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna stronaCiemna strona

Re: Unable to play any games :(

Post IP: rejestrowane!

2.0 doesn't have a native selection window :)

That means that unfortunately something in your system prevents you from playing.

Maybe you could try to start it while in safe mode boot like roki suggested ?
User avatar
Demonic Poland (pl) Female
Administrator
 
Posts: 146
Joined: 22 May 2010, 21:38
Last Visit: 21 Mar 2016, 14:30
Online: 21d 21h 3m 38s
Highscores: 2
Lamps demolished: 0 (+0)
Reputation point: 616
Ojciec ChrzestnyOjciec ChrzestnyOjciec ChrzestnyOjciec ChrzestnyOjciec ChrzestnyOjciec ChrzestnyOjciec Chrzestny


  • Similar topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests